Major Program Areas

The Department of Art offers several major areas of concentrated study that lead to the Bachelor of Fine Arts degree, the Bachelors of Arts degree, and the Master of Fine Arts degree. Minors are also available to non-Art students.  Areas of concentration Art History, Ceramics, Design, Digital Printmaking, Electronic Studio, Painting, Photography, and Sculpture.  The curriculum for each area of concentration is administered by a specialized Area Coordinator.  Students enrolled in a Department of Art program unit shall be advised by the appropriate Area Coordinator.

All Bachelor of Fine Arts and Master of Fine Arts students must officially declare an area of concentration and successfully complete a portfolio review in that area.  Official declaration can only be made by filing a completed Area of Concentration Declaration Form with the appropriate area coordinator and faculty.

All Art students must pass the English and Mathematics Placement examinations.  Otherwise, the student must successfully complete the required preparation courses offered at the Center for Academic Reinforcement (CAR).

A brief description for each course of study is outlined in the following section.  Policies are subject to change during the course of normal development, implementation, evaluation, and revision. Changes may become effective before publication of the next official Departmental Handbook. Without prior notice or publication, the faculty reserves the right to change the stipulations or requirements set forth in this Handbook.  Through faculty collaboration of the Curriculum Committee, provided that the revision will at no time lengthen the normal period of

time required to obtain the desired degree, curriculum revisions may be made.  If in the interim curricula changes are made and sanctioned by the Department, students are required to fulfill the total requirements of matriculating the scheme in force at the time of their declaration of an area of concentration.  Students may opt to remain within the requirements of their original scheme or they may choose to adhere to the requirements of the subsequent curricula changes, made and sanctioned by the faculty during the course of a student’s matriculation.  At the time designated by the faculty, such changes will become effective, published, and binding immediately.

For more detailed information concerning a particular area, contact the appropriate area coordinator.

A change of major or withdrawal after the freshman year will almost invariably require ADDITIONAL TIME IN RESIDENCE AT THE UNIVERSITY due to new sequence requirements. All changes and adjustments to a major must be approved by the Area Coordinator and/or Advisor.  The above will likely require additional funds FOR WHICH THE STUDENT MUST PLAN.

The purpose of the undergraduate degree program is the attainment of the highest possible professional skill levels in technical fundamentals, theoretical and practical competencies, artistic sensibility and intellectual development, not a piece of paper which simply marks a four year time span. If the student does not follow the curriculum scheme as printed, graduating within a four (4)-year time period may be jeopardized.


Degree programs include:


Bachelor of Arts — 4 years: Art History.

Bachelor of Fine Arts — 4 years: Ceramics, Design, Electronic Studio, Painting, Photography, and Sculpture.



Master of Fine Arts — 2 to 3 years: Ceramics, Design

Master of Fine Arts — 2 years: Electronic Studio, Painting, and Sculpture.


Areas of Concentration

Art History



  • General Design track
  • Fashion Design track
  • Interior Design track

Electronic Studio