The 80th Annual Art Students Exhibition Feb 4 – March 11, 2011

HOWARD UNIVERSITY GALLERY OF ART cordially invites you to The 80th Annual Art Students Exhibition Opening Reception, Friday, February 4, 2011 from  5:00 p,m, – 7:00 p,m. Exhibit on view through March […]


cordially invites you to

The 80th Annual Art Students Exhibition

Opening Reception, Friday, February 4, 2011 from  5:00 p,m, – 7:00 p,m.

Exhibit on view through March 11,2011

Gallery of Art
2455 6th Street, NW· Washington, DC 20059

Gallery Hours
Monday-Friday: 9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
(202) 806-7070

Art Student Show 03 - Spring 2010

©2011 Ronald Beverly

Foreword & Acknowledgment

The first student exhibition was presented at Howard University during the spring of 1924.  Since that time, it has become a formal part of the presentation and practice of the Department of Art to showcase the work of its student artists.  The experience of the student presenting his or her work to the University community and to the general public becomes a vital part of his or her education.  At the same time, the exhibition provides us with the opportunity to study the creative expressions, growth and maturity among the participants.  Preparing to meet the demands of the professional world, however, should not be taken lightly; competition is keen and alive – take heed and be prepared.

The gallery of art wishes to express sincere thanks to the students who submitted their works for the 80th annual exhibition.  Our profound thanks to George H. Smith-Shomari for his cooperation and patience in serving as independent juror and for selecting the award winners. Thank you to Dominic A. Thomas, student, for designing the brochure; and to students, Jazmine Hepburn, Tanika Hubbard, Zuri Pryor-Graves, Alabi Yetunde, and Adrian Turner, for their help in the installation of this exhibit. Without the gallery staff, Scott Baker and Eileen Johnston, the task would be insurmountable; our appreciation.

Our gratitude also to Dr. Gwendolyn Everett, chairman of the Department of Art, for her nurturing and guidance of our young artists, and to the faculty who encouraged the students’ participation in the 80th Annual Art Student Exhibition.

-Tritobia Hayes Benjamin, Director

About the Judge

George H. Smith-Shomari

George Smith-Shomari. 2011 Photo by Bree Gant, HU Photography Major

Artist, professor and artistic consultant George H. Smith-Shomari has lectured and exhibited nationally and internationally.  He was taught by renowned artists such as Jacob Lawrence (at Pratt Institute); Professor James Porter, noted author of ‘Modern Negro Art’ (the first book about African American Art and Artists); James L. Wells, the ‘Dean of African American Printmakers’ and Professor Lois M. Jones, internationally renowned female artist.

A native of Brooklyn, New York, Professor Smith received his Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Howard University and his Master’s with a specialization in printmaking and art education from Pratt Institute.

In addition to teaching at the University of the District of Columbia, George Smith has taught in the DC Public School System and several museums in New York City.  His most recent artistic workshop took place at the newly inaugurated David Driskell Center at the University of Maryland. Dr. Driskell was also one of Professor Smith’s instructors at Howard University.

His three decades of artistic endeavors has illustrated the benefits of investing in art, acquiring art for esthetic and financial pursuits and more importantly, the universal intrinsic value of owning art.

The artistic works of George H. Smith have appeared in numerous one-man and group exhibitions in museums, galleries, schools, colleges and universities throughout the United States and abroad.  Shomari’s iconography is embedded with the ‘African Diaspora and Spirituality’, which has earned him numerous accolades.

2011 Award Winners


Graduate Award Winners

1st: Aasiya Townsell
2nd: Jessica Hopkins
Hon. Mention: Osereime Aimua

1st: Jamea Richmond-Edwards

1st: Jereme Scott
2nd: Amber Adams
Hon. Mention: Bassem Shaaban

1st: Keven Blake

Electronic Studio
1st: Farah Ahmed
2nd: Winter Coleman (Not a Graduate Student)
Hon. Mention: Jasmine Fucod

Undergraduate Award Winners

1st: Taylor Hill
2nd: Jessica McClendon
Hon. Mention: Joilyn Jackson

1st: Charles Metze, III
2nd: Adrian Turner

Electronic Studio
1st: Elisha Holmes
Hon. Mention: Amecia Starks

1st: Dana McBeth
2nd: Bree Gant
Hon. Mention: Stacy Ann Ellis

Interior Design
1st: Armisha Johnson
2nd: Denean Griffie
Hon. Mention: Darlene Sheppard

1st: Zuri Pryor- Graves

Exhibiting Artists

Amber Adams * Farah Ahmed * Osereime Aimua * Yosef Alexander * Omar Battle * Nicholas Beauregard * Bretagne Blair * Keven Blake * Dawn Brame * Darrell Brown * Tiffany Bynes * Winter Coleman * Katrina Connelley * Amber Cuff * Harold Dawling Pierre Dennis * M. Merci Dixon * Kyle Douglas * Jamea Richmond-Edwards * Stacy-Ann Ellis * Karen Ennis * Jasmine Fucod * Bree Gant * Tiffany Gittens * James Glenn * Toni Goodson * Michele Goosby * Samantha Grant * Denean Griffie * Shana Griffith * Shavaun Hairston * Tahirah Hairston * Qiyamah Hameed * Alicia Harris * Kamirria Harris * Taylor Hill * Elisha Holmes * Jessica Hopkins * Joilyn Jackson * Vince James * Alicia Johnson * Armisha Johnson * Emily Johnson * Evelyn Kahsay * Azalia King * Sydnea Lewis * Dana McBeth * Lalonda Mcclain * Jessica McClendon * Devin McCrea * Alex McSwain * Charles Metze, III * Richard Montgomery * Carrie Nobles Faraday Okoro * William Page * Dhalia Pierre * Jocelyn Pollard * Zuri Pryor-Graves * Fredricka Ransome * Kasey Rivera-Fleming * Brian Roberts * Jereme Scott * Bassem Shaaban * Darlene Sheppard * Eric Slye * Markanthony Smith * Amecia Starks * Lili Stephens-Henry * Sydney Talbert * Desiree Tatum * Bryant Thomas * Dominic Thomas * Sadia Thomas * Aasiya Townsell * Omar Tulloch * Adrian Turner * Amirah Uhuru * Chase Walker * Matthew Wallace * Traci Watkins * Bianca Williams * Wilmer Wilson, IV


Akili Ron Anderson * Mark Bartley * Ronald Beverly * Starmanda Bullock * Terry deBardelaben * Raven Featherstone * Karen Hampton * Allen Jackson * Gary Lampley * Chi Chong Lee * Tony McEachern * Winnnie Owens-Hart * James Phillips * Michael Platt * Reginald Pointer * David Smedley * Alfred Smith * Elka Stevens * Mialyn Tapscott * Michelle Taylor * Mark Watkins * Patricia Young

Photos courtesy of Ronald Beverly. Content provided by Eileen Johnston, HU Art Gallery Registrar.